SATOSHI TAKEISHI

Compositions: Satoshi Takeishi
Instrumentation: Pocket Piano by Critter & Guitari, Moog MF102 Ring Modulator, Danelectro BLT slap echo pedal, frequency shifting computer processing
Recording: ORC, Brooklyn, NY. November 2015 – January 2016
Mix: Sam Owens at Figure 8 Studio, Brooklyn and ORC, August 2016
Mastering: Lars Graugaard, January 2017
Cover art: Satoshi Takeishi
Layers Of Bridges
 
« A few years back, a friend of mine who is a film director told me that he is working on a new script based on Franz Kafka’s novel, The Trial. He already had a short draft shot by his film students and asked me to score a temp music for it. After reading the novel, I was really struck by the disturbing world the novel presented and also by an eerie similarity to the time we live in, even though it was written over 100 years ago. Almost immediately, I heard the sound inspired by the novel. Or rather, a specific feeling that I want to express became very clear to me. So I worked on several short pieces and those became the foundation of this 2nd part of my triptych electronics work.
I always had a reservation about doing “Drone” type music for myself. I thought that it was the most challenging music, not only to make it musically interesting but also to make sense of why I want to do it. However, I always loved something about a slowly evolving low oscillating sine wave tone, which for me has a specific feeling that can not be attained by any other means. And I wanted to work with that feeling in a musical project for a while. So, here was the chance and I took the challenge.” – Satoshi Takeishi
Laisser un commentaire

