Masashi Isai, interview

>>How would you describe and rate the music scene of the country you are currently living in?

There are music of various genres in Japan. I think that is a good thing.

>>Do you see yourself as part of a certain tradition or as part of a movement?

I do not think I am a part of the tradition.
But I make music with common equipment everyone uses.
In that sense,I might be traditional.

>>Could you define with a few words your project / music ?

Yes, I call My 1st CD“Title fit I felt it” medium art.
masashisai.hatenablog.com/entry/2016/01/25/212408

>>What themes were you focusing on it?

This CD“Title fit I felt it” is particular about a medium as a CD.
masashisai.hatenablog.com/entry/2016/01/25/212408

>>What, would you say, are the factors of your creativity?

The factors of my creativity is thinking of exceeding the my limit.

>>What stimulates you to write music?

It’s movies or pictures.

>>How would you describe your method of composing?

First I make a demo of work. I make a work by collating it.

>>How do you see the relationship between sound and composition?

I think there is only one correct position of sound in the music. I place the sound in place when i make a music.

>>During the entire recording process do you try to avoid listening to other people’s work, or is it something you welcome?

I like listening to other people’s work during the entire recording process.

>>What are your favorite sources of sound and how do you work them? Who would you consider the main influences on your work?

My favorite sounds is the sound of musical instruments and the sounds of city.
I’m influenced by Mr.Luc Ferrari.

>>How strictly do you separate improvising and composing? What does the term „new“ mean to you in connection with music?

I don’t separate improvising and composing.
I think „new“„new“ mean to originality.

>>What is the will which urges you to make some music?

Inspiration and emotion urges me to make a music.

>>Do you personally enjoy multimedia as an enrichment or do you feel that it is leading away from the essence of what you want to achieve?

I enjoy multimedia as an enrichment.

>>How, would you say, could non-mainstream forms of music reach wider audiences without sacrificing their soul?

I think that if non-mainstream forms of music has Inspiration and emotion,it can reach wider audiences without sacrificing their soul.

>>The consumption of the music changed a lot. The technology and the platforms modified the « plan » and the multiplicity exploded. It hasyou he changed in your approach? How see kept silent the role of the artist in this abundance?

I think my basic circumstances are stable.

>>Many artists dream of a “magnum opus”. Do you have a vision of what yours would sound like?
My vision is that handing down my work to posterity.

Une réflexion sur “Masashi Isai, interview

Laisser un commentaire

